Everyday

She’s leaving home.

Hey blogsters,

Exciting news! My blog was chosen for the “Best of Betes Blogs” for best use of humor! Check out the July winners here: http://bigfootchildhavediabetes.com/2013/08/05/best-of-the-betes-blogs-july-edition/

It’s a huge honor to be recognized for my humor! (I won for my blog entitled “Forgiveness vs. Permission” on the logistics of my adventure to great heights, as well as a minor incident with resort security officers.) I was ecstatic to hear that I had been chosen, and also super excited to hear that someone had noticed my blog in the first place. It’s a tremendous honor.

Alright, on to the current happenings.

College. I officially move into college in three days. If you think that I’m not absolutely freaking out, you would be absolutely incorrect.

I sorted through my closet and my shoes about a week ago, and I had quite a time trying to decide what to bring and what to leave behind. I’ve packed for countless vacations, as well as many years of summer camp. I’ll tell you something right now. College is not summer camp. I have to not only think about what I want to bring to entertain and clothe myself for a week or so, but an entire year at a time. I buckled under pressure, and many overwhelmed tears were shed on my masses of clothing.

Theoretical tears, of course.

In all honesty, it came out more like a pained cry for help and repeated whining of statements among the likes of “I don’t want to do this” and “I don’t know how to pack for college”. Let’s just say, it was a painful experience for everyone involved. Needless to say, I survived, and now I am moving on to the joys of packing everything else.

Clothing and shoes are child’s play.

I have absolutely no idea what things I will need, what things I will want, and what things I think I need and really don’t. Sure, I have a recommended items list from my college, but that doesn’t include any of the things specific to me, such as my book collection, or art supplies, or electronics, or anything but the absolute essentials, really. It’s really hard to predict what I’ll want to have with me months from now.

Even with my packing troubles aside, it’s kind of an awkward thing, going away. I’ve been saying goodbye to people recently, and it’s really saddening. I don’t know how to really say “hey, I’m leaving for a few months, but I…guess…I’ll see you around sometime?” And even more so once you take into consideration that I’m still not leaving for three days. I’m still here, but I’ve already said goodbye to so many people.

(Living in a small town like Milford, I’ll have to avoid places like Walmart, or I will absolutely run into everyone to which I have already said my goodbyes, and probably feel one of two things; awkwardness or overwhelming sadness. Both of which, I would like to avoid.) It’s just so odd.

Now that all of that is out of the way, let me tell you how excited I am about college!

I’m going to have an absolute blast; I know it already. I have friends waiting for me when I get there, and I can’t wait to make even more. I’m excited to be moving into a dorm that I can decorate however I please, with a roommate that I can’t wait to meet. I can’t wait to take classes that directly relate to what I want to do with my life, and I can’t wait to utilize my talents and the knowledge that I will gain from those classes.

There is so much to be excited about, and I can’t wait to tell you about my adventures– I just have to survive move in week and freshman orientation, and I’ll catch you on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

